1812 CROSSING OF THE BEREZINA SPECIAL RULES

1) These rules are to be used with the Crossing of the Berezina - 27/28 November
1812 scenario on page 25 of the booklet for Commands & Colors: Napoleonics -
Expansion #2 The Russian Army.

2) Carl von Clausewitz and Antoine-Henri Jomini are represented by two special
pieces. Clausewitz is placed with the Russian Line Infantry unit between the River
Berezina and the Horse Artillery unit on the right-hand side of the board. Jomini is
placed with the French Line Infantry unit two hexes north of the town of
Studienka.

3) Clausewitz and Jomini are activated on every turn without needing a command
card. If Clausewitz or Jomini begin the turn with a unit, it can move with him and
engage in both ranged combat and melee. If Clausewitz or Jomini move into a
unit's square, it can't move unless activated by a command card, but can engage
in both ranged combat and melee.

4 ) The French player immediately wins the game if Clausewitz is killed. The
Russian player wins the game if Jomini is killed.

5) The French player gains one victory banner for each unit which leaves the
right-hand side of the board. A general who leaves the board doesn't qualify for a
victory banner. The French player is not awarded victory banners for the
elimination of Russian units. The Russian player wins victory banners as under the
normal rules by destroying French units.

6) At the end of their turn, the French player can declare that the bridge over the
Berezina has been destroyed. All French units which have not yet fully crossed the
bridge hex are eliminated and the Russian player is awarded a victory banner for
each one. The French player immediately discards all command cards which
activate units on the left flank and picks up new cards to replace them. When left
flank cards are picked up from then onwards, they are also discarded and
replaced. If they wish, the Russian player can discard any command cards which
activate units on the right flank and pick up new cards to replace them. If a right
flank card is picked up from then onwards, they can also be discarded and
replaced.

7) If a Russian unit occupies the bridge hex, the bridge is destroyed and the
provisions of rule 6 are also implemented.



